The replacement: Pt. 2 of 4

I am being replaced.

For those of you who just stumbled on my blog, I am a Biology teacher in my old college for August. And now August is coming to an end. Why a biology teacher? Why college?

Here’s why.

The previous B-teacher, Miss May (picture grabbed from FB), has left for INTI. She was also my B-teacher when I was studying there, up till June 2009. Just a year ago. A different style of teaching from the rest, not the kind you are able to put into words. Strict yet gentle. She taught us to study not for the sake of examinations, but for the knowledge itself. Most prominent memory :  when she joked about girls having to stop counting our age when we reach 18 years old. 😉

Where is my new working place? Well, this is my cubicle!  (Please ignore my bag being so .. you know.. messy)

Is the first thing you notice the smiley face bear smiling at you? Isn’t it the cutest thing you have ever seen? You could actually feel that it is saying “If you’re having a bad day, I’ll give you a smile and a hug to brighten up your day. ” And the food section at the corner of the desk is for days I rush out the door without any breakfast.

The first week, no surprise, takes a little while to adjust to. The fact is that I’m returning to a place so familiar as a different role altogether. By name, I’m a temporary teacher, but I feel like I’m trapped in between, neither a teacher nor a student. For me, it’s odd to be calling the teachers who taught me about a year ago my colleagues, and to be addressed as ‘teacher’ by students whom some are older than I am.

It is one thing to be able to speak up in front of a group of people, it is another to be able to communicate the right message across. Biology, like any other, is a strange subject – you may know it, but you may not be able to speak it; you may understand it, you may not be able to answer the questions.

To be honest, I don’t think I gave a very good first impression. First impression doesn’t matter as much as the last, I believe. But, on the whole, I can safely say I didn’t do a terrible job, at least not as what I’ve expected out of myself. At least I’m proud of myself for not having cold feet, for not stuttering, and for being able to show a smile even though I’m scared shitless. LOL.

On the side note, I share my notes with the students (including physics’ and critical thinking). There is no point in keeping notes I would no longer be using. I add”For Private Circulation Only” – takut kena sue later. Of course, when I make those notes when I am not even sure I could score a hundred, and I add a disclaimer before sending it out for mass photocopying. This is my disclaimer:

This is not an official publication. The author has taken due care and caution in compilation of data. Information has been obtained from different sources, which is considered reliable. However, the author does not guarantee accuracy, adequacy or completeness of any information and is not responsible for any errors (including spelling errors) or omissions or for the results obtained from the use of such. the accuracy and completeness of information provided herein and opinions stated herein are not guaranteed or warranted to produce any particular results.

I know what you’re thinking. Memang takut kena sue.


As days turn into weeks, soon it is time for me to leave. I was the replacement before, and in a couple of days, being replaced. The new teacher, Ms. Tan, will begin officially on next Monday, so I’ve heard. (Supposedly on September, but it’s a little foggy). My spoken contract was for the month of August, but somehow the new teacher’s contract begins on Monday (30th August.) So tell me, whose job is it to teach on Monday?  Mine or hers?

It doesn’t matter. I’d still be returning on Monday to collect my very first paycheck!

P.S.: There’s a part 3 coming up. 🙂 while waiting, Click here for part one

3 thoughts on “The replacement: Pt. 2 of 4

  1. Hani says:

    Miss Ng! thank u for all the candy! and all the knowldge! and all the fun that u gave us in class! u are definately one of the highlight of my a-level’s life. 🙂 we will all definately will miss u!!!

Leave a Reply

