Ring the Christmas bells

Few weeks ago, we went to the Manchester Christmas Lights Switch On at Albert Square. It feels like a long long time ago since I last took this picture. The fireworks display were just simply magnificent; it was a pity we missed out on them last year. As the sky continued to sparkle with the utmost beauty, I closed my eyes and blew a wish into the smoky sky… 😉

The highlight of the day would definitely be the performance by Joe McElderry. If this is the first you’ve heard of him, he was the X Factor UK 2009 winner , and the reason he was here tonight was because his first audition (song: “Dance with My Father Again“) was right here in Manchester. We were too far away from the stage we couldn’t see the stage, but we did watch him on one of the flat screen TVs set up around the stage. Tonight, he sang two songs from his newly released; Ambitions and Someone Wake Me Up.

The odd thing, I realised, is that I never keep up to date after he won X Factor, I assumed that was the end of it. LOL. Anyway, there is a new album, Wake Up (Check out the track Fahrenheit too!)

That was 12th November 2010. And two days ago, on 24th November 2010, we went to the Christmas Market. It was around Albert Square too! 🙂

There are many different stalls; most of them are similar to last year’s. Here’s a picture of all of us. (including Jake and Seng Tuck) 🙂

(clockwise l-r from left) Mon, me, Caro, Chia Khuan, Looh Zhen and Ying.

It was lovely. This was particularly the shop I like most, with all the beautiful ceramic… salt and pepper shaker. Yes, it is a little odd, but very fancy. But yet, too pricey – I would not spend 8 pounds for a salt and paper shaker.


–But what I would, is for a 4 pound pork sausage! The shop has three kind of sausages, two of which I could not understand (something about spicy pork sausage and normal pork sausage?)


It tasted very different from the £1 for 10 frankfurters hot dog I always eat. Yummy. Totally worth my money.

Anyway, we went round to browse other stalls. some of them got waffles and pancakes and coconut.. balls? I know it’s kinda short post, but the christmas market is definitely a do-not-miss thing to do in Manchester. 😉 It was very chilly that night, but its a pity there’s still no snow. 😦

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

