One Decade

In response to post #45: If you could go back in time and have a 5 minute conversation with yourself ten years ago, what would you say?

Ten years ago I was ten years old.

It was 2001. That year I had just skip a grade and entered a new class where all the kids are older than I am. I didn’t have much social skills back then (even now) so I wasn’t very good at the making friends part.  Especially the small talks part, I used to thought there were just pretense of people who wanted to be popular. I usually get to the pleasantries and that’s it. That year I remembered the popular kids disappearing during break times, the hushed whispers of classmates during lessons – the feeling of being outcasted. And being in a class of less than thirty students didn’t exactly help much.

So, if I  had five minutes with myself ten years ago, I would probably tell myself this :

“Don’t over think too much.

Especially about friendship. Quantity isn’t worth as much as quality. As you grow older, you won’t be very popular, you won’t have as many friends as you thought you would, but that wouldn’t matter to you anymore. As you grow older, you would be able to find close friends that you would keep forever. And those people would accept you for who you are.

Here’s something I quote from One Tree Hill, S6 Ep 24: Remember Me As Time Of Day

Take a look at yourself in a mirror who do you see looking back? Is it the person you want to be? Or is there someone else you were meant to be the person you were meant to be but fell short of? Is someone telling you you can’t or won’t? Because you can.

Believe that love is out there. Believe that dreams come true every day. Because they do. Sometimes happiness doesn’t come from money or fame or power. Sometimes happiness comes from good friends and family and the quiet nobility of leading a good life. Believe that dreams come true every day. Because they do.So take a look in that mirror and remind yourself to be happy because you deserve to be. Believe that.

And believe that dreams come true every day. Because they do.

Be nice to your family. They would be the one who support you when you hurt most. You wouldn’t understand the things they do to keep you safe now, but you do.

Don’t be such a rush to grow up. Enjoy what life brings you.

Always keep on learning.”

And I would give myself the longest hug ever.


I would gladly tell you that within this ten years I’ve so much more. And I have still a lot to learn. Be more considerate, more compassionate, more tactful, more understanding, more mature..  I’ve learn to stop worrying about my problems because there are bigger things in the world such as war, poverty, earthquakes, hunger, cancer, diseases..  When you weigh exam stress and battling for disease (for example), the former seems to pale in comparison with the latter.
If you could go back in time and have a 5 minute conversation with yourself ten years ago, what would you say?
2 thoughts on “One Decade

  1. Jane says:

    I would tell myself to stop fretting over the small messes in my life and learn to show more care and concern to those around me who had bigger messes in their lives. =) Even though i’ve only known you since f2, i believe you’ve come a long way, little sis. Maybe in ten years time, you’ll look back and think differently on the way you live your life now. Really, life is a mystery and all we can do is to take it step by step, treading carefully but surely, no matter where those steps take us. It’s those steps that make us who we are today, and who we will become in the future. After all, God made our eyes to be at the front of our heads, and as Roald Dahl once said, ‘the whole object of life is to venture forward’. But of course, we all love to indulge in reminiscence once in a while. =p

    Reply: 😀 your comment made my daySSSS 😀

Leave a Reply

