Summer in Paris

Eiffel Tower. Lourve museum. Notre-dame Cathedral.  Sacré-Coeur. Champs-Elysées. La Defense. Orsay Museum. Arc de Triomphe.  These are some of the popular landmarks we immediately thought of when someone mentioned “Paris”.

Paris is beautiful. The thing about Paris is even if you see the same monuments all over again, you never get tired. At least not for me.

Paris attractions from http://www.aviewoncities.com/

Paris attractions from http://www.aviewoncities.com/

I returned to Paris for the second time after 2 years. On the first day I arrived, I had the whole day planned out in the train, from the place of attractions to the breakdown of time and public transportation used. It wasn’t until two of my friends who were already in Paris texted if I wanted to join for lunch before I realised; I forgot to slot in time for lunch.. and dinner. Too excited perhaps?  😆

Lunch at Benoit was awesome; especially the escargots. This restaurant offered a lot of complimentary starters and desserts – good stuff. In the spirit of trying something new, I ordered a dessert “Armagnac Savarin” which is a fancy term for alcohol-infused bread. Not a wise choice, definitely.

The restaurant, Benoit.

The restaurant, Benoit.

Escargots

Escargots

Complimentary cheese puffs

Complimentary cheese puffs

Chicken and mushroom puff

Chicken and mushroom puff

Line caught whiting

Line caught whiting

Armagnac Savarin

Armagnac Savarin

What the "Armagnac Savarin" is made of

What the “Armagnac Savarin” is made of

Complimentary chocolate and pistachio cakes

Complimentary chocolate and pistachio cakes

Complimentary awesome stuff

Complimentary awesome stuff

After lunch, we walked about to see several landmarks as pictured below.  I didn’t manage to climb the basilica Sacré-Coeur on the last day as I decided that shopping for a friend (and myself haha!) was more important.

Opéra de Paris Garnier

Opéra de Paris Garnier

Tuleries garden

Tuleries garden

Lourve museum

Lourve museum

My company for the day!

My company for the day!

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Sacre Coeur

Sacre Coeur

Opéra de Paris Garnier - night view

Opéra de Paris Garnier – night view

This was the day we went into several shops along Champs-Elysées, from bags  to watches to jewelries . Service was nice in most shops, even though we did not get anything in the end.  The three of us had dinner at a different restaurant, with more escargots and frog legs. We ended the night early as we were heading to Disneyland the following day!

Frog legs

Frog legs

Duck... i think?

Duck… i think?

****

The most significant addition to this trip compared to the last was seeing the famous Mona Lisa painting. On the final day,  J and I queued up as early as 8.30 am at the Lourve museum.  It was free entry for students *glees* with a valid student card.  We were provided with a brochure of the layout of Lourve museum. Believe me, it was a lot bigger than I anticipated. The first stop was no doubt; Mona Lisa. Unfortunately for me, it was a lot smaller than I expected (i was expecting to find a poster size painting silly me!) and protected by the glass. #potongstim While we were at the museum, we went around to have a look at several other famous statues and paintings. After an hour and a half, we decided that it was more than enough.

Lourve museum - morning queue

Lourve museum – morning queue

Mona Lisa

Mona Lisa

Mona Lisa.. is small

Mona Lisa.. is small

After that, I parted ways with  J and lingered around at the Tuleries garden in front of the museum. From where I was sitting, I was drawn to the Eiffel tower and the attractions on the way. So I went to Eiffel tower, yet again! At the  tower, I met another fellow Malaysian who was on her own solo trip – how awesome was that! We were dodging a lot of people who pretended to ask for donations.

View from Tuleries Garden

View from Tuleries Garden

Musée d'Orsay

Musée d’Orsay

Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower

****

At the end of the trip, there was a failure to communicate. As I was staying in a separate accommodation, I took the bus to the train station by myself. Upon arrival, there was an escalator on the left and platforms right in front of the main door. Because there was so many posters, signs and flower pots here and there, I mistakenly assumed that we had to go up the escalator, and down to the platforms (when in fact, the platform was a straight path from the main door). My friends called and called and each time i answered: “I am almost there.” thinking that I would meet them after going up an escalator and down a different one.

When in fact, the escalator led to the check in area for the international train back to London. I reached the lounge at 6pm for a 6.15 pm.. and realised that awful mistake I made – there was no way down to the platform where my friends were waiting, and worse; they had not checked in yet. Luckily, none of us missed the train. I could tell by their facial expressions that they were annoyed even after I apologised, but sometimes, mistakes were made to teach us a lesson.

Well, lesson learnt.

One thought on “Summer in Paris

Leave a Reply

