The World Unplugged

I’m not getting any signals.

I placed my bag down by the wall, strode towards the window and raised my phone to the window. There were no bars; no shaded circles out of the five little ones on the top left corner of my phone. No phone signal, no 3G signal.

This trick didn’t work. 

“Are any of you getting any signals?” I turned back into the room, my arm were still extended to the window. The rest were already on their phones.

“I’ve got two bars.” I hear.

No freaking way. 

“What service provider do you use?” I asked.

Apparently he did not hear me. “Oh.. one bar.” He continued. “No, two bars. Oh no, one bar. One bar… No, no more.”

Without any signals, I felt lost. I couldn’t receive any text. I couldn’t check my emails. What if I get an important mail within the next few days and didn’t respond in time? I couldn’t browse through the social media websites like Facebook and Twitter. What if there were important news that I missed? As if. I scoffed silently.

My phone was utterly useless without any signals. Almost. I drowned myself in all the things I could not do when I was not plugged in to the virtual world. Until I heard an unfamiliar deep voice…

“We’ll start in five minutes”

The tour guide popped his head into the room as quickly as he walked out. I paused. From the moment we reached our accommodation in Mulu until now, I had not stopped fussing about the virtual world.

I put my phone down and head out to the real world.

* * *

Here are some of the pictures I took on that trip:

Lang Cave, Mulu, Malaysia

Lang Cave, Mulu, Malaysia

Deer Cave, Mulu, Malaysia

Deer Cave, Mulu, Malaysia

Bat. The bat.

Bat. The bat.

The entrance to.... a cave.

The entrance to…. a cave.

Black stripes in yellow, but not a bee.

Black stripes in yellow, but not a bee.

Black fungus

Black fungus

Spot something green?

Spot something green?

Is this poisonous?

Is this poisonous?

A Beetle's Shell

A Beetle’s Shell

Mushroom

Mushroom

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

In response to Daily Prompt: Bloggers, Unplugged 

Sometimes, we all need a break from these little glowing boxes. How do you know when it’s time to unplug? What do you do to make it happen?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us UNPLUGGED.

Posts I Like:

Bloggers, unplugged by Geek Ergo Sum

Disconnected by Random Blotches

6 thoughts on “The World Unplugged

Leave a Reply

