Baking Corner: Cornflake Chocolate Chip Cookies

Welcome to the first post of the series Baking Corner that features a new recipe (hopefully) every Monday.

I am not a professional baker, nor do I have a sweet tooth. But I bake occasionally, mainly on special occasions such as new year or birthdays. I have been baking on my own for five years now. Every now and then, I like to try something new. It’s fun to experiment out some recipes and watch as the dough rises in the oven. But most of all, I bake, because I love to make people happy. My parents are my number 1 fan. (: 

*

Chinese New Year 2014 is three weeks away and I am sure we are all looking forward to eat lots of delicious food, gathering with friends and family, beautiful decorations especially lanterns, receiving red packets as well as, the gathering with friends and family.

Not to forget, cookies!

Cookies are a very important part of the lunar new year. I grew up in a family where we handmade our own cookies, so it had unknowingly become a tradition. After going abroad in 2009, I had started to bake these cookies from scratch, to keep the tradition alive.

Today, I will feature the Cornflake Chocolate Rice Cookies. This was my first time making cornflake cookies, and I adjusted from the original recipe (I do not know which website I obtained it from, so I could not credit anyone) by adding chocolate rice, because I love them!

*

Cornflake Chocolate Rice Cookies.

Cornflake Chocolate Rice Cookies

Cornflake Chocolate Rice Cookies

Ingredients: (about 60 cookies)

  • 140 g plain flour (sieved)
  • 15 g corn flour
  • 100 g butter
  • 75 g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 tsp (1.25 g) of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp (2.5 g) vanilla extract
  • 80 g cornflakes (crushed)
  • 30 g chocolate rice (optional)

Preliminary Method:

  1. Prepare all ingredients and placed them in separate bowls.
  2. Line the baking tray with baking or parchment paper
  3. Preheat the oven to 150’C

Method:

  1. Mix the plain flour, corn flour and baking powder in a mixing bowl.
  2. In a separate mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
  3. Add one large egg and vanilla extract. Beat well for another 2 minutes.
  4. Fold in the dry ingredients in #1 in few instalments until no flour is seen.
  5. Add in chocolate rice and mix well. This step is optional.
  6. If the dough is slightly sticky, refrigerate for about 30 minutes.
  7. Roll the dough into balls about 1.5 cm diameter.
  8. Coat the ball in crushed cornflakes by rolling it in the bowl of cornflakes.
  9. Transfer them into a baking tray lined with baking paper.
  10. Make sure there are about enough space in between each balls as they will expand slightly in the oven.
  11. Bake for 25 minutes at 175’C or until golden brown.
  12. Leave to cool. Repeat until the dough is used up.
3 thoughts on “Baking Corner: Cornflake Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

