Chocolate Oreo Cheese Cake with Oreo Biscuit Base

I started baking with cheese cakes. The first few cheese cakes  I made was so terrible that it’s hardly even called a cake at all. But there’s something positive about hitting rock bottom – you can only climb upwards from there. I made a few basic cheese cakes before, but when I had a taste of oreo cheese cake a friend made for my 21st birthday, I knew it had to go into my ‘to bake’ list. The list is only getting longer and longer and… I need volunteers to eat my pastries!

One fateful Saturday, I decided to bake an Oreo cheese cake and I thought; why not have an Oreo biscuit base instead of a standard tea biscuit base. Then, I asked myself – what’s better than a cheese cake? I’ll tell you, a chocolate cheese cake with oreo! So that’s where the “Chocolate Oreo Cheese Cake with Oreo Biscuit Base” idea sprung to light.

Just kidding.

What really happened was that I improvised when I realised that I bought chocolate Oreo biscuits (with chocolate cream filling) instead of the original Oreo biscuits (with white cream filling).  The cream had to be removed for the base of the cake. Not wanting to waste it, I added it to the cheese cake mixture and it worked. As the cream is already sweet, no additional sugar is required.

I’ve always wondered how much cakes cost, so I estimated it with breakdown as follow:

  1. 2 packets of chocolate Oreo biscuits for RM 6 (£3). I wish that I had bought more, so that I can saturate my cheese cake with more Oreo biscuits. I had to sparingly arrange it such that every slice would have a bit of Oreos.
  2. 3 blocks of Philadelphia cheese for RM 30 (£6). I baked this on a 9 inch springform pan, and 3 blocks give a perfect ratio of 9:1 of filling and base.
  3. 45 g of Luprak slightly salted butter for RM 2.50 (£1). One block of butter is 200 g for RM10.
  4. 150 g of caster sugar for  RM 1.50 (£0.50).
  5. eggs for RM 1.50 (£0.50). Depending on type and range, a dozen of eggs cost about 5 ringgit.
  6. 1 tsp of vanilla essence.

So there you have it, it costs about RM42 or £11 on a 9-inch springform pan. The price is not a direct conversion from RM to £, but rather the estimated cost of ingredients in Malaysia and UK. When cut into 8 even slices, one slice is estimated at RM5 or £1.50.  And we paid for cheese cakes at bakeries at least triple the price. *cries*

Anyway, here’s the recipe: (Pssst: It tasted awesome!)

**

Chocolate Oreo Cheese Cake with Oreo Biscuit Base

Chocolate Oreo Cheese Cake with Oreo biscuit base

Chocolate Oreo Cheese Cake with Oreo biscuit base

Ingredients (made on a 9-inch springform pan): 

For the base / crust

  • 16 chocolate Oreo cookies divided – crushed.
  • 45 g butter, melted.
  • 1 tsp sugar / honey

For the filling

  • 3 x 250 Philadelphia cheese
  • 150 g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2.5 g vanilla essence (1 teaspoon)
  • 8 oreo cookies, chopped.
  • 16 Oreo chocolate filling

Preliminary Method:

  1. Prepare all ingredients and placed them in separate bowls.
  2. Line the base and sides of the springform pan with parchment paper.
  3. Preheat the oven to 140’C (base) and 180’C (filling)

Methods:

For the base

  1. Separate the chocolate cream from the Oreo biscuits. Leave the chocolate cream to the side.
  2. Put the Oreo biscuits in the bag and crush it till it’s fine.
  3. Melt butter in pan on low heat and coat the crushed biscuits until evenly moistened.
  4. Press firmly on springfoam pan and bake for 10 minutes.
  5. Leave to cool in the refrigerator while preparing the filling.

For the filling

  1. Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla essence with electric mixer on medium speed until well-blended.
  2. Occasionally scrap down the side of the bowl for even mixing.
  3. Add eggs 1 at a time and beat well after each addition.
  4. Add in chocolate filling and beat.
  5. Reminder: Do not overbeat. Batter should be smooth, light and airy.
  6. Remove springform pan from fridge. Pour filling into the springform pan in three addition.
  7. For every addition, mix in the quarter Oreo cookies to your preference.
  8. For the final addition, arrange the quarter Oreo cookies such that some of them will be above the filling (pic above).
  9. Bake for 45 minutes @ 160’C or until centre is almost set.
  10. Cook for 3 hours in fridge or overnight.
4 thoughts on “Chocolate Oreo Cheese Cake with Oreo Biscuit Base

    • Jill says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment!

      You will definitely find someone that will bake even more beautiful and delicious cakes to satisfy your every craving. My cooking and baking skills aren’t that great either, but everyday is a learning process.

      xx.

Leave a Reply

