[Photo] Treasure

I’m a collector of memories.

Since young, I love collecting things; it started of with things I received like gifts, handwritten notes, soft toys etc.My first treasure was a cute paper clip I received in kindergarten because I won a prize. If it weren’t for brother and my grandmother who pestered me to open the present, it would probably be stay unopened until the year ended. I have never used it.

I had several memory boxes throughout the years. Every couple of years, I would change it to a bigger box as it is filled to the brink of exploding. I would collect snips of papers, entrance passes, concert tickets, lucky charms, report cards, birthday cards etc. As I grow older, I started buying things for myself. When I travel or visit a place, I would buy a souvenir, usually a keychain or a postcard, to serve as a reminder of the place. Sometimes, I would receive keychains from friends who visited a foreign place.

My favourite thing to collect iis keychains; look at the board below!  I usually put them in a box, but it definitely looks nicer on display. Every piece of collection I pick up, I could tell you the wonderful story about the giver, the experience or the place. A fond memory I had for the yellow shoe keychain at bottom of board, was that during the Christmas Market in Manchester, I had almost forgotten to pay the seller after receiving the goods! She had given me the keychain after we had a good laugh about my absent-minded actions.

Some of my keychain collections.

Some of my keychain collections.

I had many treasure boxes (or memory boxes). These two are the one collecting the small items.

Memory box in KL

Memory box in KL

My memory box in Miri

My memory box in Miri

One summer, I had plenty of time in my hand and rearranged my memory box; not before I took a picture of the mess below (:

Bits and Pieces from high school

Bits and Pieces from high school

One of the many cards my brother gave me!

A thank you note from my Bro.

A thank you note from my Bro.

Even though I collect many physical treasures, sometimes, the best treasure is the memories we share together.

Picking up our mortarboards.

Picking up our mortarboards.

“Close friends are truly life’s treasures. Sometimes they know us better than we know ourselves. With gentle honesty, they are there to guide and support us, to share our laughter and our tears. Their presence reminds us that we are never really alone.”
― Vincent van Gogh

**

In response to Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

7 thoughts on “[Photo] Treasure

Leave a Reply

