Here I Go Again

I decided to have a little fun and try my hand at rewriting song lyrics, to the tune of Demi Lovato’s “Here We Go Again

https://soundcloud.com/songstems/demi-lovato-here-we-go-again-1

“The song’s lyrics chronicle the protagonist’s on-off relationship with an indecisive boy as she sings that “Something about you is so addictive”. Lovato explained: “So it’s about, basically, being in a relationship where you break-up and you make-up, and you break-up and it’s like ‘Here we go again, we just keep doing this over and over’.” -Wikipedia

This version is about … well, why don’t you interpret it? And psst, the original lyrics can be seen if you highlight the piece… magic!

***

I throw all of your stuff away
– I throw all the hurt and pain away –
Then I clear you out of my head
– Then I learn from all my mistakes  –
I tear you out of my heart
– I tear down these walls I built –
and ignore all your messages
– And learn to face all my fears –
I tell everyone we are through
– I tell everyone I’m okay –
Cause I’m so much better without you
– All because I lost my faith in love –
But it’s just another pretty lie
– But it’s just another pretty lie –
Cause I break down
– ‘Cause I believe –
Every time you come around
– Every time you come around –
oh, oh
– oh, oh –

[Chorus]
So how do you get here under my skin
– So why do I feel all these butterflies –
Swore that I’d never let you back in
– Swore that I would never say “hello” –
Should have known better than trying to let you go
– Should have known better than getting into this game –
Cause here we go, go, go again
– ‘Cause here I go, go, go again –
Hard as I try I know I can’t quit
– Hard as I try I know I can’t quit –
Something about you is so addictive
– Something about love is so addictive –
We’re falling together
– I’m falling once more –
You’d think that by now I know
– You’d think by now I know –
Cause here we go, go, go again
– Cause here I go, go, go again –

**

You never know what you want
– I never know what I want –
And you never say what you mean
– And I’ll never say what I mean –
But I start to go insane
– And I lose my train of thoughts-
Every time that you look at me
– Every time that you look at me –
You only hear half of what I say
– You only know what I let you know –
And you’re always showing up too late
– ‘Cause you’re always in your own little world –
And I know that I should say goodbye
– And I know I should have left this –
But it’s no use
– But it’s no use –
Can’t be with or without you
– I just can’t fight this feeling –
oh, oh
– oh, oh-

So how do you get here under my skin

[Chorus]<
So how do you get here under my skin
– So why do I feel all these butterflies –
Swore that I’d never let you back in
– Swore that I would never say “hello” –
Should have known better than trying to let you go
– Should have known better than getting into this game –
Cause here we go, go, go again
– cause here I go, go, go again –
Hard as I try I know I can’t quit
– Hard as I try I cannot stop –
Something about you is so addictive
– Something about love is so addictive –
We’re falling together
– I’m falling once more –
You’d think that by now I know
– You’d think by now I know –
Cause here we go, go, go again
– Cause here I go, go, go again –

**

Again
And again
And again
And again
And again

I throw all of your stuff away
– I throw all the hurt and pain away –
Then I clear you out of my head
 Then I learn from all my mistakes  –
I tear you out of my heart
– I tear down these walls I built –
oh, oh
oh, oh

[Chorus]
So how do you get here under my skin
– So why do I feel all these butterflies –
Swore that I’d never let you back in
– Swore that I would never say “hello” –
Should have known better than trying to let you go
– Should have known better than getting into this game –
Cause here we go, go, go again
– ‘Cause here I go, go, go again –
Hard as I try I know I can’t quit
– Hard as I try I cannot stop –
Something about you is so addictive
– Something about love is so addictive –
We’re falling together
– I’m falling once more –
You’d think that by now I know
– You’d think by now I know –
Cause here we go, go
– Cause here I go, go, –
Here we go again
-Here I go again –
Here we go again
– Here I go again –
Should have known better than trying to let you go
– Should have known better than getting into this game –
Cause here we go, go, go again
– cause here I go, go, go again –

Again
And again, and again, and again
And again, and again, and again
And again, and again, and again
And again, and again

Leave a Reply

