A Stranger’s Kindness

I hardly drive since I graduated from university.The first time I had to drive alone in KL, it wasn’t by choice: I had to go to the client office 60 km outskirt of the city.

The night before my first trip, I had a lot of visual images of worst-case scenarios running through my head; being distracted by a text message, finding an alternative route in Waze, adjusting the radio frequency, or avoiding a motorcyclist. In my head, every time I peel my eyes away from the road for a split second, it ends with a crash.

Fear can be viewed in many ways, but my fears of driving (or crashing) lead me to be a more attentive drive on the road. Or I try to be. I am still a dangerous driver in most ways. This fear escalated after an accident that happened 5 years ago.

Long story short, the tyre burst when I was speeding up the hill. I hit the brakes and the car skid and I swerved to avoid an oncoming Hilux and ended up in stuck between the trees. The car was badly damaged; the left passenger window and the back window were completely smashed by the branches. At the driver seat on the right side, I was basically unharmed.

I’m telling you this story because of what happened next.

I was shaken so I did not know how long I took before I came to my senses. I searched for my phone (should have searched for my purse too) and squeezed out of the car.

A stranger on a motorcycle stopped at the edge of the road, and asked if I was okay. This stranger could have ignored me like the rest of the drivers that passed the road, but he didn’t.

He didn’t have to ask about my condition, but he did. In case you were wondering, I survived the accident virtually unharmed, with countless red ant bites on my body and a tiny wood fragment on my palm.

He could have be on his way after he was knew I was okay, but he didn’t. Instead, he offered a ride to my destination and I graciously took it. During the ride, he picked out the red ants that were biting on my calves – adrenaline worked wonder.

There was nothing much I could do except to thank him profusely after we arrived at my destination. It was my first and last time riding on a motorcycle.

That is not the first time a stranger has shown kindness to me, and it is not the last. But I am certainly grateful for that kind Samaritan that offer a helping hand when I was most in need.

For people who often says that the world is dark has clearly overlook many kindness that crosses their paths. I don’t speak for everyone, but I see kindness around me very often; people opening doors for others, helping to share the weight of a heavy luggage up the stairs, giving seats up to elderly and pregnant ladies in public transports.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not ignorant about the evils of the world. Like yin and yang, the good in the world is balanced by the presence of evil. If we are faced with such predicaments, we may not be able to choose the situation that we are in, but we can choose how we react to these situations.

We can do our part in spreading good by paying kindness forward. You never know, it may change a life, or a person’s view towards it.

9 thoughts on “A Stranger’s Kindness

    • Jill says:

      Yes, I was fortunate that the kind Samaritan was there to offer a ride, otherwise I had to walk up and down the hill until I reach my destination. I was REALLY fortunate that all I got from the crash was a wood lodged in my skin.. and ant bites.

  1. belle★beckford says:

    This was a lovely story. It’s great that we can recognize and applause kindness when we meet it. I’m always pleasantly surprised – and very wary, as is my nature – but still very grateful for the kindness of strangers.

    • Jill says:

      Thanks.. It’s always good to be wary at times (just in case people have ulterior motives). But it is more important to be grateful for the kindness we get, after all, what comes around goes around 😀

Leave a Reply

