5 Years Anniversary with WordPress: Why I Blog?

Five years ago today, I decided on a new blog name and created a WordPress blog. Ten days later, I wrote my first post and since then, I never stopped writing on this website.

As you probably know, WordPress is not my first blog website. I’ve written on MSN Blog, Friendster (remember Friendster?) and Blogspot before I settled on WordPress. Among all the blogs I have over the years, WordPress is the website that sparks most positivity in my writing. Perhaps the passing years have made me a less immature person (I hardly believe I can ever call myself mature), or perhaps it is the exposure in the past few years, I don’t really know the exact reason, but I am grateful that I found an increase passion in blogging.

5years

Why do I blog? I wonder, as one by one, my friends fall out of blogsphere.

It’s fun to look back at how I started, and how much this blog changed over the years. In the first four years, my blog is a place where I ink the daily snippets and random musings of my university life. I would write about the places I’ve been and sometimes the one-in-a-lifetime experiences. Now, this blog is a creative outlet for my random writing musings and weekly showcase of my favourite photographs.

Blogging inks events that I want to remember. Travel destinations, birthdays, summer breaks, trips back to my hometown are compile properly. I would write about the things I know that I would want to refer to in the future, like my first day abroad or the summary of the university years. Sometimes, I would write about moments that I thought I have forgotten.

Blogging provides me with a platform to express. Sometimes, writing gives me closure. I am conflicted most of the time, and until I put feelings into words, I am finally ready to face what I feel. I have written about friendship I cherish and the one that I let go. I would write about my dreams and my fears. And sometimes, I would write something painfully honest, it took me a couple of months to share.

Blogging makes me feel less alone. I usually make a good first impression, but I am known to keep people at arms length. I find it hard to reach out to people and let people in. As much as I enjoy solitude, I started to reach out to a virtual community that shares the passion as I do – writing. I admire the vulnerability and rawness in their writing that I hope to achieve someday.

We are each on our own journey. Each of us are on our very own adventure, encountering all kinds of challenges, and the choices we make on that adventure will shape us as we go. Those choices will stretch us and test us and push us to our limit. And our adventure will make us stronger than we ever knew we could be.

– Criminal Minds

Most of all, blogging makes me want to be better. I love attaching photographs with my posts, and I would always try to look for opportunities to snap photo-worthy pictures. I have a passion for writing and taking pictures, and sometimes I would create a post that I feel is worthy enough to be published.

For five years, my blog stats have grown from as little as 500+ monthly views to as much as 2700+ monthly views. For all the readers who have been reading my blog over the years, a huge thank you! I couldn’t have done this without your support. 😉

I hope you will have as much fun reading as I have writing these blog posts.

Stay tuned.

Signing off,

Jill

*

Ripples of Truth is available on Facebook, known as Jill’s story.

facebook

6 thoughts on “5 Years Anniversary with WordPress: Why I Blog?

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Congrats on your blogging anniversary, Jill. Five years, wow. That is a long time to be blogging. It is so true that blogging makes us feel lonely. As bloggers, what we all have in common is sharing our writing (maybe a little bit of writing, maybe a lot, depending on what our blogs are about) and photos. It’s very nice how everyone is very welcoming here, being non-judgemental and accepting. I’ve enjoyed your posts so far, and hope to see more posts from you soon 🙂

    • Jill says:

      Thank you Mabel for your kind wishes. Five years is indeed a long time. I think we all find our way to be truly comfortable with ourselves, and blogging is one of the method I use. It is lucky that the blogsphere is, like you said, a welcoming place. 😉

      Hope to read more posts from you too! Keep on writing.

      Jill.

Leave a Reply

