Miri: Losing the Vibe that Separates

“The best of friends can change a frown to a smile”

One day at work, I was listening to my music on shuffle when a song caught my attention. A few days later, every time the song Bruises by Train came on the radio or on shuffle, I smiled. I took a moment away to peel away from what I was doing and just enjoy the music.

“Haven’t seen you since high school
Good to see you’re still beautiful…”

I had recently met my high school friends when I returned to my hometown during Merdeka week. We had started meeting up periodically ever after high school, at least once every time I come home to Miri.

“These bruises make for better conversation
Loses the vibe that separates
It’s good to let you in again
You’re not alone in how you’ve been
Everybody loses, we all got bruises
We all got bruises”

DSC05642
Loses the vibe that separates. That’s the sentence that struck a chord. I smiled as I thought of that afternoon out. It was nothing fancy or extraordinary, but rather the simplicity of these friendships that made me feel completely at ease.

“Have you seen him? Not in years
How about her? No but I hear…”

That was half of how our conversations went. We started throwing out names of friends we thought of, and hoping that someone would have an update on the person’s life. Many of these names that I have not heard in a long time, but it was nice to know that most of them were doing well.

“Can’t believe how time flies by
Leaving you makes me wanna cry”

As usual, I felt a ping of sadness as we bid our goodbyes. It is the good kind of sad, your heart gets heavy leaving the memories behind, but at the same time, optimistic and excited about the next gathering.

“These bruises make for better conversation
Loses the vibe that separates
It’s good to know you’ve got a friend
That you remember now and then…”

DSC05671Because letting people into our lives is one of the scariest things one can do…. and sometimes, it can be a very rewarding decision after all. 😉

Till we meet again.

P.S. In case you haven’t heard the song, here’s how it goes:

One thought on “Miri: Losing the Vibe that Separates

Leave a Reply

