2015: Be the Change

WHAT IF.. we are more than what we could be?

WHAT IF.. our courage truimphs our fears?

I spent most of my years being afraid, fearing one action will lead to a disastrous cascading consequence. I am afraid of a lot of things; thunders, lightning, darkness, heights, water, dogs, public speaking, etc.  But what if we are more than our fears? What if we can change ourselves, simply by changing how we perceive ourselves?

This being the start of a new year, I thought it might be appropriate for me, for us, to embrace change.

WHY CHANGE?  I want to change for myself, because I want to be a better ME. I want to be my own motivation factor. I am not saying that changing for someone else is a mistake, but it will be less effective and short-lived. As I reflect on the past year, I realised that experiencing things outside my comfort zone may not be as scary as I thought.

From a pre-offshore training, I submerged myself completely into water, escaped from a submerging helicopter, find my way out of a smoky room in compete darkness. From Skytrex, I zip-lined 22m above ground. I started sleeping without side lamp, though I still rely on the city lights outside my window.

All these things made me realise that it is OK to be scared. A lot of people are afraid of different things, but that fear shouldn’t define the way we live. Instead of crippling us, use that fear of failure and turn it into something fantastic.

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

DO I WANT TO CHANGE?

I have never made a proper new year resolution because I doubt I could achieve them. Instead I made general ones like having faith, bring kindness forward and be thankful. These are still part of my resolutions, but I am writing a proper list this time. As the year has just begin, I am still unsure if I can reach them, but here’s what I hope to achieve:

1. Get into shape.

It is never too late to start our journey towards a healthier lifestyle and I am starting mine at mid 20s. I joined a gym less than a month ago (when they waived off the admin and joining fees on that specific date) and started a variety of yoga classes. My target is to shed off at least 5 kg by the end of 2015. Too much?

2. Eat healthier.

Linked to #1, this means reducing (not avoiding) oily food and eating consistently. I can go on crazy diets if I set my mind to it. Once, I dropped 4 kg in a week to look good in my ball dress. No I shouldn’t do that again.

3. Face beauty.

This year onwards, I will wash and moisturise my face everyday even if it means waking up 15 minutes earlier.

4. Run 10 km

In less than 90 minutes. Baby steps.

5. Spend less time on social medias.

I wanted to create a Instagram account, because it is mainstream, but I didn’t. I find it unnecessary to add another account to keep up to, after Facebook, Twitter and this blog. I need to check these updates less and focus on other interests.

6. Find my passion.

And foster it. Be it baking or craft-making or playing piano, or photography, or ….

7. Read news everyday.

When I cut down on trivial websites like 9gag, I realised how much time I could have to keep up to date with every day news6.

8. Make peace with 2014.

There are still some unanswered questions and some things I need to clarify and apologise. I hope that by 2015, I will have made peace with all that is bothering me.

If whatever is said and done doesn’t translate into actions, it hasn’t really achieved anything.
―  Edited from Al Jazeera post

Most importantly….

Enjoy life, but live within your means.

What are your new year resolutions? 

11 thoughts on “2015: Be the Change

  1. purposefullyfit says:

    2015 is a big year full of taking bigger steps to incomplete ones that I longed to seek after. The first being able to pass the NCCPT and begin the process for graduate school. Two challenges I can do and stay consistent with as well race 2 Spartan Races this year as the fitness/health goal.

  2. kirizar says:

    It is both refreshing and alarming that your post reminds me of my own goals…some twenty years past where you are. Here is hoping that it is a good thing that everyone should try to make these changes, regardless of how often we strive and how frequently we fail to do so. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

