This is Home

As I sat on the worn-out seats at the airport waiting for my flight, the feeling of nostalgia slowly creeps in.

Coming back always feels like entering into a time wrap. Nothing seems to change but it does.

I love this town, before it becomes a city; before the timed traffic lights, new establishments, high rise buildings and concrete highways.

I love this city for its simplicity; for the familiar creaks on the wooden stairways, chipped paints on statues, serene environment in the park, and the sunset view by the beach.

I love this city for the friends I have made and lost; the simple conversations, the laughters that echoed, the memories inked in photographs.

I love this city for my family and relatives; for the people that love me and teach me invaluable life lessons. The people that watch me grow up and forgive me for my shortcomings.

I will always love this city. Even when I spread my wings and learn to fly, this is where I will always belong. This is home. 

Till we meet again. 

2 thoughts on “This is Home

    • Jill says:

      Hi! This is Miri, my hometown. I left that out intentionally as it was meant to be written in a way that the reader can remember things about places they feel most at home. 😉

Leave a Reply

