Paying Kindness Forward

Today I felt an unusual contentment inside my heart.

People are nice. The thing about social interaction is, you never quite know what to expect. And sometimes, you get lucky.

I went for a BodyPump class in the gym I frequent,  where the typical equipment required were a Smartstep bench with two/ three pairs of risers, barbells and weights (I had to search what all the actual terms were). As I was late, all the risers and barbells were grabbed by others, and I was left with just a Smartstep bench and weights.  I went out of the studio to grab a barbell from another section in the gym.

When I came back to the studio, a guy (Guy 1) who was stationed on my left gave me a set of his risers. This was coincidentally the same guy that I offered a pair of risers the day before, which he gladly accepted.

This set of a chain reaction where the girl (Girl 1) on my right gave me a set of hers, and later gave another set to the girl (Girl 2) in front of me.  The guy (Guy 2) next to the Girl 2, after much contemplation, proceeded to give Girl 2 another set of his.

So both Girl 2 and I had enough to get started on our workout of the day.  What a great morning to start the day, right?

I want to be surrounded by people who inspire each other to be nicer  to one another. I want to be around people who are sincere and honest, and not too egoistic to apologise sincerely when making mistakes. To be around people who congratulate each other for a promotion instead of forcing a treat out of them. To be around people who do not diminish a person’s capability by referring them to a superior’s “pet”. To mix with who tell me about their day instead of asking me to “check it out Instagram”. To not be overcritical but more be more sensitive about others’ emotions.

To make the world a better place, it does not have to be a grand gesture. Smile at a stranger. Leave the door open for the next person that comes through the door. Say thank you to the cashier. Ask about another person’s day. Surprise someone with a small gift.

If we focus on the kindness of the world, even the smallest pebble can make ripples.

Leave a Reply

